Walking grades

To show the difficulty (and ease) of our walking holidays, each is graded on a scale of 1 to 6, with 1 being the gentlest and 6 the most challenging. You’ll find a correlating walking grade on each of our individual holiday descriptions. For more information, read our blog: Our Walking Grades Explained, here: https://www.hfholidays.co.uk/news/walking-grades-explained

Walking grade 1

Walk at a relaxed pace, often spending time at places of interest en-route. Walking experience isn’t necessary as distances are quite short and gradients generally easy.

Walking grade 2

Good paths but walks are a bit longer. Some walks, particularly in mountain areas, may have sections over rough or steeper terrain.

Walking grade 3

Walks follow well-defined paths, though often in hilly or upland areas, or along rugged coastal footpaths. These may be rough or steep in sections and will require reasonable fitness.

Walking grade 4

Long distances in remote countryside and on rough terrain. You can expect some sustained ascents and descents; there may be occasional sections of scree and steep ground.

Walking grade 5

Good fitness and stamina required. Expect rocky terrain with sustained ascents and descents. Walks may include high summits and ridges.

Walking grade 6

Our most challenging walks where high levels of fitness and stamina are required. Walks will be long and strenuous in difficult mountain terrain.