Apply now

Please click on the appropriate form below which will take you through to our online application form. You should receive an automatic reply and a member of staff will contact you to discuss your application.

If you have any questions please call Gillian Mininch, Leader Recruitment and Training Manager on 01768 890091.

Assessments and Navigation Skills 

Once you've completed an application form and it's been accepted, you'll be invited to attend one of our residential Guidelines assessments. We'll be looking at your navigation and party leadership skills as well as your all round ability to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday.

More information on Assessments

More information on Navigation Skills

Assessment Dates

Assessments are held throughout the year. We have different levels of assessment available depending on the level of walks you want to lead – Lowland, Moorland or Mountain. It’s also possible to do a shorter assessment if you have a summer ML or an HML.

Mountain assessment

Fri 30 Sept - Mon 3 Oct

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Mon 31 Oct - Thurs 3 Nov

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Fri 11 Nov - Mon 14 Nov

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Mon 21 Nov - Thurs 24 Nov

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Moorland & Lower Mountain assessment

Fri 23 Sept - Mon 26 Sept

Conistonwater, Southern Lake District

Fri 30 Sept - Mon 3 Oct

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Mon 24 Oct - Thurs 27 Oct

Church Stretton, Shropshire Hills

Mon 31 Oct - Thurs 3 Nov

Derwentwater, Northern Lake District

Lowland assessment

Mon 26 Sept - Thurs 29 Sept

Abingworth, South Downs

Fri 14 Oct - Mon 17 Oct

Bourton-on-the-Water, the Costwolds

Assessment for HML award holders

Call us on 01768 890091 to discuss assessment options.

Assessment for ML award holders – two nights

No dates available at present.

Deposit

We provide Full Board accommodation and any transport used during the assessment. There's no charge to attend but we request a £30 booking deposit which is refunded after you attend the course. You will need to cover your own travel costs to get to the assessment.

For more information email Gillian Mininch, Leader Recruitment and Training Manager or call 01768 890091.